Redevelopment Powers Law

As of November 5th, 2014, the Redevelopment Powers Law passed in the following cities in Whitfield County: Cohutta, Dalton, Varnell, and Tunnel Hill.

What are Redevelopment Powers?

Redevelopment Powers are economic tools our local leaders can use to redevelop blighted and economically distressed areas in Dalton-Whitfield County.

What does this means to our community? 

Jobs, Jobs, Jobs! Increases competitiveness for projects we want, increases property values, keeps sales tax revenues at home for local use, promotes growth in areas slow to develop, pays for economic development without raising taxes, no loss of existing tax base, enhances city and county’s chances to get new, upper scale retail, etc.

What it does NOT do….

Create tax increases to the public, “freeze” millage rates, take property from private citizens.

To learn more, click the following links: